First character for an ES newbie?

• Welcome to Skyrim Forums! Register now to participate using the 'Sign Up' button on the right. You may now register with your Facebook or Steam account!
I couldn't find a prior thread on the subject, so please forgive me if it's been brought up in the past.

After a bit of pressure from some friends, I've decided to jump into Skyrim with both feet. I have very little experience with the Elder Scrolls universe, having spent perhaps thirty minutes in the very beginning of Oblivion on a friend's PC.

A question I find myself being asked is "What are you going to do for your character?" As a lifelong D&D player, I'm guessing that means race/class. And I've no idea. I know that in fantasy RPGs (both pen-and-paper and on the PC/Xbox) I prefer archers/hunters/rangers/etc. to front-line melee fighters, but it seems like having access to a little magic might be helpful. I prefer human or elf-like races. I'd be much obliged if any of you could offer any advice regarding races or starting character "classes" that I might find to have the most gentle learning curve as I make my first few steps into Elder Scrolls.

(If it makes any difference, I'll be playing the game on a console.)

Thank you!

Travis

Let me be the first to say: Welcome to a world of awesomeness. The cool thing about Elder Scrolls, is that you get good at what you do. So while you do kind-of choose a class, like in DnD, you can just pick what you like. I would recommend a Wood elf, with a focus on archery. I wouldn't worry about the learning curve, I think you will pick up on it quickly. Because anyone can do any skill at anytime in Elder Scrolls, you will easily be able to incorporate magic into your ranger, by just casting the spells you like. The game will adjust to your play style, and you won't find your ranger nuked at all just because you decided to use some magic. I hope you have fun!

hexperiment

The Experimentalist